ROEBUCK: TALES OF AN ADMIRABLE ADVENTURER BY LUKE WATERSON

  • AUTHOR: // CATEGORY: Adventure, Fiction, Historical Fiction

    No Comments

    Meet Anthony Knivet: baker, translator, man of words and indispensable advisor to celebrated English generals and Portuguese governors alike… not to mention the kings of several Brazilian tribes…Roebuck is a swashbuckling Elizabethan adventure!  

    Roebuck is based on the true story of Knivet’s escapades in South Americaroebuck during the 1590s, when desperate to prove his worth to his father and his betrothed, he embarks with Thomas Cavendish on the explorer’s ill-fated circumnavigation of the globe. Portuguese colonists capture him and want to hang him as a heretic and cannibals wait in the jungle with a hankering for his flesh. But Knivet is determined to carve a name for himself in this New World, despite the bizarre, unsavoury and sometimes just plain evil characters that stand in his way. Whether acting as interpreter elect for the sadistic Cavendish, confidant to the devout but dangerous Governor of Rio de Janeiro, or the guide upon which the entire Portuguese army comes to depend, he strives for the recognition he believes he is due. Finally, deep in the jungle, he does find his calling: inciting the tribes to unite, rise up against their Portuguese oppressors and thus change the history of Brazil forever.

    • Intelligent, fast-paced and original historical adventure
    • Will appeal to fans of CJ Sansom, Jonathan Digby and Lloyd Shepherd
    • Perfect time to write about the foundations of modern Brazil with the Olympics on the way
    • Author is established as a leading travel writer for Lonely Planet and Rough Guides.

    Since 2008 Luke Waterson has been writing for leading travel publisherlukewaterston-225x300 Lonely Planet, specialising in Latin America and Slovakia. He has also written for the BBC, the Telegraph, the Independent and the Guardian (UK), Dagens Nyheter (Sweden), and more recently smartphone apps including travel app TRVL for iPad. That’s in addition to single-handedly authoring or contributing to travel books for Insight Guides, Rough Guides and Avalon Travel Publishing. Roebuck is his debut novel.

    PUB DATE: 1st December 2015

    PUBLISHER: Urbane Publications

    ISBN: 9781910692387

    PRICE: £8.99

    EXTENT: 320 Pages

    DIMENSIONS: B format paperback

    ILLUSTRATIONS: N/A

    CATEGORY: Historical fiction

    BIC CODE: FV/FQ

    REGIONS: World

    For advance review copies please contact Kris Barnes at Authoramp.

COMMENTS

0 Responses to ROEBUCK: Tales of an admirable adventurer by Luke Waterson

LEAVE A REPLY

FILL THE FIELDS TO LEAVE A REPLY. Your email address will not be published.