• AUTHOR: // CATEGORY: Fiction, Historical Fiction

    1 Comment

    A violin virtuoso is plunged into a deaf world, necessitating him to adapt to a new culture and language in order to survive.

    David Rothman is an overnight success. He performs Tunnamedchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto with rave reviews attracting the attention of the Queen of England. His future is laid out for him like a well-lit freeway. Then, on his twelfth birthday, David suffers from an irreparable hearing loss, plunging him into a silent world.

    How will David communicate with his friends? What about school? Where does his future lie? The novel shows how an adolescent boy copes with deafness.


    Michael Thal

    Michael is the author of four published novels — Goodbye Tchaikovsky, The Abduction of Joshua Bloom, and The Koolura Series—The Legend of Koolura and Koolura and the Mystery at Camp Saddleback. He is also a columnist for the Los Angeles Examiner writing articles about parenting and education.Smaller_Sears

    Moving from the frigid Northeast to comfy Southern California in 1973, Michael taught elementary and middle school for 28 years until a freak virus left him deafened at the age of 50. He reinvented himself as a writer composing over 80 published articles in print magazines as well as novels for middle grade and high school aged students.

    You can learn more about Michael Thal on his website at His books can be purchased on and Barnes & Noble in print and as e-books.

    Purchase Links:

    The Abduction of Joshua Bloom

    The Legend of Koolura:

    Koolura and the Mystery at Camp Saddleback:

    Goodbye Tchaikovsky:

    Author Website:

    Book Trailers:





1 Response to Goodbye Tchaikovsky by Michael Thal

  • Michael Thal wrote on February 17, 2015 at 10:59 // Reply

    This looks great. Thanks for the wonderful plug, Kris.


FILL THE FIELDS TO LEAVE A REPLY. Your email address will not be published.